Pink Elephant Wreath

If you’ve read my blog before then it’s not a surprise that I love making wreaths. I especially like to cut out a base using cardboard from an empty cereal box. Using boxes you have lying around is a great way to make a simple wreath for any occasion. With the supplies you have on hand this project can be done for free without making a trip to the craft store. Over a year ago I bought a really cute pack of chipboard stickers that I just had to have. I’ve only used a few of them since then but still really like them. Some were just so large I didn’t know how to use them. One of them is pink elephant that is very cute. I decided that because I’m in the Valentine crafting spirit I could put the elephant to use. Having decided to make a wreath, I went digging for other red, white, and pink things to decorate with. I had a package of paper flowers that I hadn’t found a use for yet, perfect!

Wreath making supplies

I cut out two big circles from the cereal box and glued them back to back. Next I picked out a printed paper that would cover the front and back of the wreath. I glued the red striped paper down to each side and then cut a hole in the center of the wreath using my craft knife. To hang the wreath, I cut a length of sparkly red ribbon and tied the ends together and looped it onto the wreath. Time to decorate! I chose to use my hot glue gun for this because the quick drying time is great and the hold is strong. I started hot gluing my paper flowers at the top of the wreath and worked my way around until it was covered. I did all of large flowers first and then filled in areas with the smaller flowers. I glued some small flowers onto the a few large ones to accent them. With all of the flowers in place it was time for the elephant, I left the paper backing on the elephant sticker and used got glue to attach it to the bottom left side of the wreath.

Pink Elephant

With all the main pieces glued down, I added embellishments. I went through my binders and picked out pink, red, white, and purple things. I used hot glue to add my buttons, gemstone flowers, hearts, and pearls. Adding a little bit of sparkle and dimension all around the wreath really brought out the flowers and made them stand out individually.

Embellishment details

Now I have a cute wreath that is suitable as a Valentine decoration but can be hung up all year round. I hope that this project inspires you to use the things you already have to create something wonderful and new. Thanks for reading!

Pretty in Pink Elephant Wreath

Tickled Pink at 504 Main

Leave a comment