Light bulb of love

A few days ago I came across a great tutorial on saleenamarie.blogspot.com to make light bulb decorations with heart shaped filaments. I’ve seen this craft before and always wanted to try it out. I didn’t have any regular light bulbs in my house because I’ve replaced just about all of them with compact fluorescent lamps. I was thinking about saving this craft for later when I remembered I have two plain glass Christmas bulbs left over. I figured I could make my own version of those small round little light bulbs.

The parts I made for my bulb

To start, I removed the ornament cap from each of the glass bulbs. I had some aluminum sheets that I cut strips from and embossed with lines. I curled each strip around a thick marker  to make the base for my light bulb. Using some thin silver wire I shaped my heart filament and twisted the ends together for the stem. I made a decorative base to glue my finished light bulb to out of chipboard. I inked the edges and the top and bottom areas that would be exposed with dark brown ink. I cut a circle out of paper printed with gears for the top and glued that down. I punched a hole in the middle and stuck my filament down through it to a height appropriate for the bulb. I secured the wire to the bottom of the chipboard with tape and then glued my brown velvet circle onto the bottom. With the base complete I just had to glue the silver piece to my glass bulb and then glue the finished bulb onto my decorated base.

The base of the bulb
finished bottom

I think my replica light bulb is pretty cool. I got to try something new and use up some leftover Christmas ornaments in the process. Someday I’d like to use real light bulbs and  make some interesting little things to go inside of them. At least for now I made my own version and am happy with it. I hope you like it!

Light bulbs of love

The Girl Creative

www.skiptomylou.org

12 thoughts on “Light bulb of love”

Leave a Reply

